Former Hawkeye Reggie Roby Mentioned in New Rap Song

Former Hawkeye punter Reggie Roby has an impressive resume.

Photo from NYTimes.com

He’s a three-time Pro Bowler.

A seven-time All-Pro.

A member of the 1980’s NFL All-Decade Team

And a lyric in a popular rap song?

One of my friends who is more well-versed in the rap music scene told me about this the other day.

Washington, D.C.-based rapper Wale recently released a song titled “4am.” For those unfamiliar with Wale, he was nominated for Best New Artist at the 2010 BET Awards. He’s signed with the Maybach Music Group label, which was founded by fellow rapper Rick Ross.

About 2 minutes, 40 seconds into the song, Wale raps the following lyrics…

I’m at Dallas with luggage fly straight to the money
And you don’t understand my slang my colloquial’s lovely
So they quote me and love me like I’m a poet or something
Hoe I kick it, I punt it like Reggie Roby or something

Apparently Wale is releasing a music video for the song soon. No word on whether a highlight of Roby’s high leg kick will make an appearance in the video.

If you’d like to listen to the song, feel free to check it out here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.